1-16 june 2024

For Applicants

The Eyrarrósin award will be awarded for the 19th time in the spring of 2025.

The award is given to established outstanding cultural projects outside the capital region. The aim of the Eyrarrósin award is to focus on and encourage cultural diversity, innovation and development in the culture and arts fields. Icelandic Regional Development InstituteIcelandair and Reykjavík Arts Festival have co-sponsored the awards from the beginning, or since 2005.

Who can apply?

Applicants for the Eyrarrósin award can for example be an institution, a temporary project, a museum or a cultural festival in the rural areas of Iceland.


When is the application deadline?

The application deadline will be announced at end of year 2024.

How is the choice made?

The selection committee consists of representatives of the Icelandic Regional Development Institute, Reykjavík Arts Festival and Icelandair, as well as one cultural representative in the I.R.D.I area. The committee carefully reviews every application and supporting documents.

From the applications, one project receives the Eyrarrósin award, which is accompanied by ISK 2.500.000 cash prize, a video is made about the project and they have the opportunity to host an event on the main program of Reykjavík Arts Festival.

In addition, three prizes of encouragement are awarded to projects which have been in operation for less than three years. Each awardee will receive a prize of ISK 750.000.