19 June 2022 hrs. 7pm
19 June 2022 hrs. 9pm

Enigma is a new string quartet by leading contemporary composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir which will be performed at the Reykjavík Arts Festival with a video work by artist Sigurður Guðjónsson. Inspired by the notion of the in-between, the music juxtaposes flow and fragmentation, as the expanding and contracting fundament in the form of pulsating stasis is contrasted by fragmented materials – shadows of things that live as part of the whole.

The world premiere of the piece took place at the Kennedy Center, Washington DC, by four-time Grammy nominees the Spektral Quartet, who co-commissioned the work with Carnegie Hall and Washington Performing Arts. The quartet have since been on tour with Enigma, described as sounding „like no string quartet you‘ve ever heard“ and „wonderful work“ that resides on the border between concert music and installation art.

Anna Thorvaldsdottir‘s work has been performed by many of the world‘s leading orchestras and ensembles. Among her many accolades is the prestigious Nordic Council Music Prize. Icelandic Visual Artist of the Year 2018, Sigurður Guðjónsson has exhibited around the world and was selected to represent Iceland at the 2021 Venice Biennale.


Composer: Anna Þorvaldsdóttir

Visuals: Sigurður Guðjónsson

Spektral Quartet:
Maeve Feinberg
Violin: Clara Lyon
Viola: Doyle Armbrust
Cello: Russell Rolen

19. JUN



2.900 ISK


Anna Þorvaldsdóttir, Sigurður Guðjónsson, Spektral Quartet

Add to calendar